To Be Perfect

What is perfection? How do you define it? How do you know when you’ve reached it?

Can you answer those questions for yourself? What about defining perfection for others?

I find that it is much easier to define perfection for myself than for others? For most people, that statement would be backwards. Let me explain.

I can be categorized as one of those people who do the most, but berate themselves for not doing more. Let’s call me the “unsatisfied overachiever.”

Merriam-Webster’s dictionary defines perfection as “the condition, state, or quality of being free or as free as possible from all flaws or defects.” That sounds simple. But it’s not. In a world where the word ‘perfect’ is thrown about carelessly, how does one learn how to conduct himself?

I’ve struggled with physical flaws, emotional scars, and many other types of flaws/defects so far in my life. I’ve searched for perfection the only way I knew that I could potentially succeed. In the academic arena.

I joined organizations, took extra classes, became a student leader, and ultimately pushed myself to the limit. My reasoning: If I can’t be perfect in only one thing, then I will be FREAKING AWESOME in a number of different areas. To be honest, I only feel this way because I’m over that chapter of my life. Hindsight is 20/20.

No person can be perfect. The only perfect man that’s ever lived was Jesus Christ, and since that’s not me and I’m fairly certain that’s not you, how about we stop trying to be flawless? Once we recognize that we can’t be perfect, but can only strive to be…with Jesus helping us in our efforts, life would be so much simpler. I’m done telling myself I’m not good enough, or telling myself I don’t deserve what I have or where I am. God has blessed me with features and flaws.

Each day, you should think, “If the Lord saw it fit to keep me here another day, he must think I’m pretty great. As long as I’m better than who I was yesterday, I’m happy.”

At the end of it all, I’ve come to an easy conclusion. Know who you are. We live in a society that constantly categorizes, sizes, stereotypes, and generalizes us. Be you. Be original. Be perfectly imperfect. In my case, be a misfit.

 

-Misfit.

Tell me what you think!

