What’s Your Love Language?

A few days ago, my sister told me to take a quiz to determine my love language.

The discussion of an individual having a “love language” and the corresponding quiz is based on a series of books written by Gary Chapman, a pastor, marriage counselor, and husband of almost 50 years.

The five possible results to the quiz are the following(love languages):1. Words of Affirmation, 2. Acts of Service, 3. Receiving Gifts, 4. Quality Time, 5. Physical Touch.

Well, I took the quiz(the ‘For Singles’ version). Let me just tell you all that based on this quiz, I am not the biggest fan of physical touch. You get a score in each of the 5 languages, and your highest one is obviously the most dominant.

I scored my highest (12) in the Quality Time language, followed by Words of Affirmation. That didn’t really surprise me.

Here’s the ‘quick-and-to-the-point’ explanation, abridged from the bestselling book, of the Quality Time language: In Quality Time, nothing says “I love you” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes you feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed activities, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Whether itĘĽs spending uninterrupted time talking with someone else or doing activities together, you deepen your connection with others through sharing time.

In church today, one of the points that Pastor Adam made, in part 1 of a 2-part ‘Home Improvement’ series, was ‘maximizing the moments’. In a family, spending time together is extremely important. Many of the greatest moments in life don’t cost anything and are spent with the best people.

When I’m with my best friends or my siblings, we don’t need to be doing much of anything, going anywhere, or have any planned activities…just being together in one room, joking, laughing, cooking, eating, watching television, or just laying around and we have a good time.

Anywho…that’s one more thing to know about me. Quality Time is my love language.

What’s yours? http://www.5lovelanguages.com/profile/

-Misfit.

Tell me what you think!

